1. Vrishni clan put under spell of curse
  2. Vasudeva’s query to Narada on Bhagavatha Dharma and Narada’s narration of instruction by nine yogis to King Nimi – instruction by Kavi and Hari.
  3. Instructions by Anthariksha – true nature of Maya – the deluding potency of Lord Vishnu. Prabhuddha on how one could easily get over Maya. Pippalayana on the real nature of Paramatma. Avirhotra on yoga of action (karma yoga).
  4. Drumila on various descents and deeds of Sri Hari – past, present and future.
  5. Chamasa on fate of non-devotees, Karabhajana on different forms of the Lord and rites for worship prescribed in different yugas.
  6. Delegation of gods led by Brahma visits Dwarka and requests Sri Krishna to return to His Divine abode – Uddhava approaches Sri Krishna on the eve of departure of Prabhasa.
  7. Sri Krishna’s instructions to Uddhava – Uddhava Gita – in reply to his queries. Need of preceptor for salvation – avadhuta and story of eight out of twenty-four preceptors.
  8. What the avadutha learnt from the nine preceptors.
  9. What the avadhutha learnt from the remaining seven preceptors.
  10. Transitory and evanescent character of worldly and other worldly pleasures – how the senses which are products of gunas bring about actions and the jiva invested with body and falsely indentifying with same reaps the fruits of action.
  11. Behaviour of bound and liberated jivas as well as of devotees.
  12. The glory of association with devotees – vital role of life force and the various presiding deities in creation, sustenance and liberation.
  13. How to get over rajas and tamas by resorting to dharma – teaching imparted by the Lord in the form of divine swan to Sanaka and brothers – need to develop dispassion and get rid of contrarian or false knowledge.
  14. Path of devotion is the most superior – process of meditation described.
  15. Names and characteristics of siddhis or mystic powers acquired through yoga.
  16. Powerful manifestations (vibhutis) of the Supreme Lord.
  17. The duties allotted to the four varnas and four ashramas.
  18. The duties of anchorities and recluses.
  19. A dissertation on devotion – spiritual enlightenment and yogic discipline – yamas and niyamas.
  20. Jnana yoga, karma yoga and bhakti yoga – an analysis.
  21. The criterion for determining purity/impurity auspiciousness or otherwise, virtuosity / wickedness etc. – understanding the language of the Vedas what they prescribe and their ultimate objective.
  22. Resolving confusion regarding the number of categories (tattvas) – distinction between prakriti and purusha-nature of birth and death for the Jiva and experiences under gone in the body – need to compose the mind.
  23. The ballad of the forbearing Brahman who remained calm and composed in the face of extreme abuse.
  24. Comprehension of the Vedic texts varies in different yugas – creation of brahmanda, the fourteen lokas or spheres and their inhabitants – dissolution or withdrawal of the universe into the Lord – (sankya yoga).
  25. The operation of the three gunas – their individual and combined effect on the jiva – how one can overcome such effects – while making most of the precious human body.
  26. Pitfalls of sadhaka (seeker) cultivating the company of unworthy men – story of King Pururava and his utterances on aversion for sense pleasures.
  27. Course of discipline for the formal worship of the Supreme Lord – kriya yoga.
  28. Lucid exposition of the supreme sovereignty the Lord and the total dependence of the Jiva on the Lord. The nature of phenomenal world – which is real and a means of liberation, and which appears as independent due to the deluded mind.
  29. Concluding instructions to Uddhava; Uddhava proceeds to Badrikashhrama, attains to the Lord following instructions.
  30. Evacuation of population from Dwarka to Prabhasa – the curse runs its course – Yadu race perishes in the internecine war.
  31. Sri Krishna’s ascent to divine abode in the presence of Brahma and others – Arjuna arranges funeral rites of the slain-drowining of Dwarka – crowning of Vajra at Indraprasta and Parikshit at Hastinapur – departure of Pandavas to the Himalayas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − 2 =